Get Your Sunshine In A Photo

23 Mar

We had beautiful weather on Sunday, the first day of spring. Now just three days later, we have six inches of snow. Sigh.

It’s actually really beautiful clinging to tree branches and gently falling in that way that just makes you want to make a cup of cocoa and stare out the window. But we’ve had quite a lot of this winter so it feels more spirit dampening than anything.

GeorgeMichael tweeted today: “It’s 18 degree in London. If the sun is shining where you are send me pics of your gardens…beauty can be healing.”

By golly, George! You have something there.

I jumped on the computer and started opening all of my photos from travels to the Caribbean. And something miraculous happened. My snowy blues went to sunny smiles.

I have a plethora of photos that show white, white sand and blue, blue water. Palm trees. Hammocks. Sand Castles.

A Window With a View in St. Croix

But this one stuck out. The colors are vibrant and eye-catching, but I really liked it because I was seeing that view through a window. 

How often we glance out a window and never stop to appreciate the view.  So I decided to look out my window again today.  After all, if I could love the white, white sands couldn’t I also love the white, white snow? 

It’s the best of both worlds. Enjoying my current view and then, when I need a little pick me up warmth, enjoying the view through my lens.

2 Responses to “Get Your Sunshine In A Photo”

  1. Kottage Kreations March 23, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    My thoughts exactly! Thank you for sharing this lovely post. How awe inspiring. I love your view in life as well as seeing your view from your lens! Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

    • redcurlgurl March 23, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      Thanks so much for your lovely comments and for the retweet. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

