When Are You Most Creative?

25 Mar

I was out really late last night at a concert which somehow managed to mess up my sense of which day is was–surely today was Saturday. Right?  I suddenly had the urge to paint. 

Funny, I hadn’t thought about painting all week. During the week, I think about writing. Something about Monday-Friday makes we want to edit my second novel and get my game plan together for Script Frenzy, which begins in (gasp!) a week.

But when the weekend rolls around, my creative juices take a sharp right and they want to leave the laptop behind and dig into material, ribbons, paints, jewelry findings and glitter.

The rules are wee bit different for my photography. Inspiration for that seems to come when I see it. Even when I venture out to specifically find it (like this past fall when I went leaf peeping). I drove around for hours but only stopped the car a half a dozen times to capture that look or moment in time.

Things that make you go hmmmm…

When are you most creative? Is there a particular day of the week? Time? Environment? Do you listen to music? Need a big cup of coffee? Do you schedule your creative time or do you just let it flow organically?

I shall be putting my computer aside this weekend for my paintbrushes. So I leave you with this quote from Mahatma Gandhi:

“Every moment of your life is infinitely creative and the universe is endlessly bountiful. Just put forth a clear enough request, and everything your heart desires must come to you.”

2 Responses to “When Are You Most Creative?”

  1. Pany March 25, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    I’d say I’m most creative in the summer. I’d sit in the garden under the summer sun with some cold drink of my choice and paint/draw/collage. I really like your blog and the quotation you put from Gandhi there. Very nice :)I don’t schedule my time. I start start whenever and then finish when something else comes up. And yes, I put some peaceful music on, it puts me in the mood 🙂

  2. redcurlgurl March 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Oh, how absolutely lovely it must be in the garden, in the warm sunshine, painting/drawing/collaging. Thank you so much for your nice compliment. Isn’t it funny how much music can play a part in being creative. Enjoy your peaceful creative time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

