Are You My Inspiration?

30 Mar

I love to multi-task. It’s probably the reason why I also love to create across multiple mediums. At any given time, I can be working on a piece jewelry, while sewing a purse and painting with my acrylics or watercolors.

When inspiration strikes, I just give in to it. I learned (the hard way) that when a scene pops into my mind, to grab my laptop or nearest piece of paper and write it out. I’ve tried jotting down notes to remind me of what I wanted to say but it is never as good as when I am in that moment and text is flowing freely. It’s the same way when I paint. A color combination will present itself and, unless I grab those brushes and get that paint on the canvas, I won’t be able to recapture that feeling I had towards that palette.

I’ve been gathering ideas in preparation for Script Frenzy but I don’t know which ones will turn into that new play until I put fingers to keyboard on Friday.  And honestly, it might all depend on when I decide to start. If I go out for lunch and bring my laptop, I’m quite sure I will choose something different that if I begin writing Friday night. Yes, my environment influences my creativity. 

A few years ago, I was having a conversation with a friend who couldn’t believe I didn’t cook. I told her I wasn’t any good at it. She found this hard to believe. She told me cooking was just being creative with food instead of paints, paper or material.

Hmmm…

So I put on a gorgeous damask apron, played some opera and worked my artistic ways on a yummy Italian dinner.

And that tradition has continued three years later. Everything from the weather (a warm summer breeze makes me want to concoct delicious salads with watermelon, pine nuts and feta) to clothing (I am seeing a lot of pink this Spring, so I am eager to make cupcakes with a strawberry glaze), stirs something inside of me to express myself in a creative way.

So where do you find inspiration?

2 Responses to “Are You My Inspiration?”

  1. Kottage Kreations April 1, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Well, it IS Spring. My muse is working over-time, the sun IS shining finally, so that’s why I need to get to another project. My inspiration came from a lovely lady, Regi, at http://southernooaks.blogspot.com. This is the post you will find my inspiration muse: http://southernooaks.blogspot.com/2011/04/i-hear-that-song-againi-aint-got-no.html

    She has created my bunny for a new piece I’m working on for my shop (http://kottagekreations.etsy.com). You will have to wait for the end piece, but at Regi’s blog, you can see just the beginning of it! See you there!

    • redcurlgurl April 1, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

      OOOOOhhhh!!! How cute is that bunny? And I love that you are collaborating on a piece. Can’t wait to see the finished product. Happy Weekend.

Leave a Reply

