The Final Countdown

25 Apr

That song by Europe keeps playing over and over  in my head as we push forward into the final six days of Script Frenzy.

I remember two years ago when a friend of mine told me about ScriptFrenzy. It was just two days before the challenge started and I madly read through what would be required for me to participate. I wondered if I could actually commit to 100 pages of scripted material. At that time, it could have been 100,000 pages. It was a crazy idea thinking I could actually write that much and do it in only 30 days. 

I mapped out a schedule which included trying to write as much as I could during the week and then really putting in the midnight oil on the weekends.

Life and a freelance gig writing for a newspaper made it  difficult. With around a week and a half left, I was stealing every free moment to get a few more lines of dialogue on the page. And I did it. I was a Script Frenzy 2009 winner.

I was filled with so much pride in myself and writing confidence I never knew I had that I took on the 2009 NaNoWriMo challenge. If I could do a 100 page play, then I could write a 50,000 word novel.

To say that I sweated the entire month of November was an understatement. Dishes were left in the sink, dust piled up, I resorted to wearing clothing I hadn’t in years because I didn’t have time to do laundry. But, what do you know? I became a 2009 NaNoWriMo winner.

Well, now that I knew that I could do it, I dove back into ScriptFrenzy and NaNoWriMo 2010. Some chores still didn’t get done, but my at least my wardrobe didn’t suffer and I was super pumped to be able to wear two winner t-shirts that year.

Now, here it is 2011 and I committed myself to a three-time win with Script Frenzy. And I’m in the final countdown—91 pages. Just a mere 9 pages left to cross the finish line. And I can taste the victory. I can see the ribbon I need to break through. I can hear the crowds cheering. And while I can’t wait to see the winner banner over my name, I don’t want to forget this feeling that I am having right now.

The feeling of knowing that anything is possible when you put your mind to it.

This year there hasn’t been any sweat. My dishes and dusting are done and I look fabulous.

Leave a Reply

