I used $3.50 CVS dollars to buy $55.29 worth of stuff

21 Jul

I had $3.50 in CVS dollars just burning a hole in my wallet. It’s a thousand degrees here today so I thought I should go shopping.

I initially had plans of buying two Diet Cokes and maybe a peppermint patty. I think $3.50 in CVS bucks would cover that.

Then, I remembered that I needed replacement blades for my razor. Sure it was going to cost more than $3.50, but it would be like getting one blade for free.  

So off I went in a very air-conditioned car to CVS. I spied the Diet Cokes upon walking in, but not wanting them to be warm, I figured I would save that for when I was ready to check out.

The razor blades are at the end of Aisle One. However, at the beginning and continuing into the middle of Aisle One is make-up! Lots and lots of make-up. Being the gurly gurl that I am, I couldn’t possibly pass by without at least taking a look.

As I passed by the large display of Essie nail polishes, I remembered that Giada recently tweeted the color she wears on her show. A quick search through the pale pinks and I had Giada’s “Adore-a-ball” color in my basket.

Next up was Maybelline which reminded me that I just ran out of their Falsies Volume Express mascara. Well, I couldn’t risk not having long lush lashes in the morning so into the basket it went. Of course, they were having a buy one, get one 50% off sale, so I couldn’t possibly leave without trying to figure out something else I might get.

Up walks a fellow redhead and CVS worker who asked if I needed any help. I said I was just looking, but moments later had to get her opinion on Maybelline’s lip stain. She said they were quite a popular item (as was evidence from the small selection left to choose from). She has a preference for Revlon’s lip stain, but said they are all about the same. Oh, and a woman who bought a Maybelline lip stain yesterday, came back in and bought three more colors today. Well, that’s it! I’m sold! My 50% off item would be the lip stain in “Blushing”. Fellow redhead also recommended that, if I liked the feel of lipstick (and oh how I do) then adding a little lip balm over the lip stain would give me that feel. Was this turning into the best CVS trip ever or what, I thought!

I continued down the aisle checking out the Revlon stain. They were not having a sale, so I was assured my Maybelline purchase was, in fact, a very, very good one.

Oh no! I remembered that I didn’t scan my card at the little red box when I walked in. Midway through Aisle One, I hooked a left and walked up Aisle Two. Hair products!

Shield your eyes I said to myself. You just bought a bunch of new product not two weeks ago. But the hazel nut shampoo called out to me. “Another day, my friend. Another day, you will be mine. Today I came for replacement razor blades. And, um, some mascara and lip stain.”

I scanned my card and a long line of coupons spilled out. Most weren’t of interest with the exception of the $10 off $50 or more purchase. Surely, I didn’t have $50 in my little basket. A quick estimate and I was only at a little less than $20. I put it in my purse to use another day.

Another left hook and I was back at the beginning on Aisle One. No problem. Just need to head to the end and get the replacement razor blades. But wait! There was the L’oreal section. Didn’t I need foundation? Yes, I think I do.

A fan of the Feel Naturale brand, I was madly scanning for the gray playing card sized case. But alas there was none. Then upon closer investigation, I see they have changed their packaging to a mod silver with a new application roller. Hmmmm…Into the basket it goes.  (On a side note, I opened it up and used the handy-dandy roller when I got back to the office and I gotta say, I like it!).

Then something happened. I went left mid-way down the aisle.

Suddenly, I found myself in the card section. Did I need cards? Maybe. Perhaps some anniversary cards? Birthday cards? Didn’t find anything that made me giggle so I moved on down the middle of the store.

Tissues? No. Pens? No. Padded envelopes? No. I was staring into space trying to remember why I came to CVS when a nice lady asked me if everything was ok. I told her yes, I had some lovely new cosmetics in my basket, but couldn’t remember why it was that I came. She suggested I make a list next time. Good idea. Except I was nearly sure it was only one thing I needed thus a list was not necessary. We parted ways and I roamed the middle aisle some more trying to think of what I was forgetting.

Ah, it hit me then. Nail polish remover. I was going to need some of that if I wanted to remove my current color (Re-fresh Mint by China Glaze) in favor of Giada’s polish.

Back to Aisle One. Another hook left. Down to the end of the aisle where I picked up a big bottle of remover and walked right past the replacement razor blades.

To the front I skipped, beauty products in tow. While standing in line, I looked over and saw the gift cards. Oh that’s right! I needed a gift card for a friend’s upcoming b-day. Into the basket it goes. I’m next. The guy scans my glorious beauty finds, I hand him a $2.00 off coupon I found in my wallet. And a 25% off my entire order. Forgot I had that one. Then I see the total. What? How can that be? Surely not. $65 worth of loot?!

Well, I did get that gift card at the end so really I didn’t spend all that much on make-up. And then it I remembered. Coupon for $10 off $50 or more. Bonus! It’s been a great day at CVS.

I smile confidently to the young man behind the counter.

“Did you find everything you needed?” he asks.

“Oh, yes! And more.”

“Good. Glad to hear that.”

“I actually just came in for one thing,” I confess. “But I found so many other interesting things.”

He nods. “What was the thing you came here for?”

“Mascara.”

And then I happily walked out swinging my bag of beauty goodness.

(Note: It is now four hours later and I am writing my blog. It wasn’t until I sat down to write the blog that I realized I don’t have my replacement razor blades).

4 Responses to “I used $3.50 CVS dollars to buy $55.29 worth of stuff”

  1. But That's For Another Blog July 21, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    AAHHHHH! I do this constantly and it drives me CRAZY!

    • redcurlgurl July 22, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      I think it must be a gurl thing. Men seem to go into a store, buy the EXACT thing they came for and then leave. For me, it’s almost like a calling. I just have to wander around and see if there is something that I might need that I don’t already know that I need. And if there is a sale, forget about it. Then there is ALWAYS something I have to have.

  2. bonkasaurus July 22, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    LOL post! i do this all the time at Target.

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

    • redcurlgurl July 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      Thanks! Glad to know I’m not the only one. This used to happen to me at Pier 1 all the time so much so that I just had to stop going in cause I would walk out with an entire new collection of plates, candles and furniture.

Leave a Reply

