When Old Becomes New Again

13 Oct

We had a beautiful weekend of summer and now it’s back to being fall.

When the temp dropped to 61 degrees, I hated to admit it, but I was in need of warmer clothing. So I dug around my sweater bin this morning and pulled out a little gem I had forgotten about in the last seven months. It’s a sporty black sweater with white sleeves and hood. There are two white stripes  on the left arm only and I always feel super hip when I wear it.

I didn’t wear it last winter due to some *ahem* fluffiness. But I have been watching what I eat (not dieting, just paying attention to calories and sodium mostly) since April and I’ve lost a couple. OK more than a couple as I realized this morning when the overall sweater felt looser and the stripes on my left arm weren’t bulging.

This prompted me to dig around my jewelry box for things I hadn’t worn in a while. I pulled out this fabulous pearl ring that I had bought many years ago from a vintage store. It used to fit snug on my ring finger. Today I had to move it to my middle finger.

Suddenly, in less than a year, my old stuff became new. Things that I couldn’t wear are now on the verge of moving to the other side of that statement (can’t wear because they are too big) which means I’ll have to buy some duds this winter.

One of the other things I pulled out was a silver Celtic knot bracelet. A bracelet I wrote about in my first novel.

It’s less than 18 days until NaNoWriMo 2011 starts and I’ll be working on the third novel in my series. In preparation for the beginning of that new book, I’ve pulled out my old manuscripts and notes.

Suddenly, familiar dialogue and relationships are taking on fresh meanings for me as I read between the lines and get tidbits of information that I can use in this upcoming endeavor.

I am super excited to dive into this next book. My old characters are on the cusp of diving into new adventures and I can’t wait to go along for the ride. And, who knows, maybe one of the characters will be wearing an old pearl ring while she goes shopping for a new sweater.

Leave a Reply

