Top 10 Beauty Products

17 Jan

I admit it. I am a girly gurl! I looooovvee beauty products. The pretty smells, the lovely colors, the way they make me look and feel.

I am always on the look out for new things. I’m that gurl that will walk up to you and say, “I love your eye shadow. Who makes it and what is the color?” I could spend all afternoon shopping at Ulta, spritzing perfumes and trying out lip colors on the back of my hand.

And while I might pick up something here or there, I have a tried and true list of my favorite top 10 beauty products. These fab 10 have proven time and time again that they deliver.

Do you have a product that you adore? That makes you feel special, gives you extra confidence, puts the va-va-voom in sway of your step? Be sure to let me know what it is in the comments section below. I’d love to try your favorites. And who knows, perhaps you favorite will become my favorite.

1. Just For Redheads Luxury Lipstick in Enchanting Dream. This medium brown/mauve lipstick is luscious! It goes on smoothly, lasts for hours and looks amazing in person and in photos. While it is designed with redheads in mind, I think it would look good on almost anyone.

2. OPI nail polish delivers. They have the most amazing colors and when used with the base coat/top coat can last up to a week (including washing your hair, doing dishes and gardening). I included the image for Funky Dunkey (which was part of the Shrek collection). I get so many compliments when I wear this shade.

3. I usually shy away from celebrity products. But years ago my sweetheart bought me Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker and I have worn it ever since. I get asked what perfume I am wearing all the time. It is subtle enough to wear everyday and seductive enough to wear out for a romantic evening.

4. If you have long thick hair, then you know what a task it is to try to come through the tangles after your wash your hair. Not so if you have Aveeno Active Naturals Nourish & Condition Leave In Hair Treatment spray. You can pick it up just about any place and a few sprays is all it takes and your comb or brush will GLIDE through your hair.

5. A few years ago, a lady I knew was selling Avon. I flipped through the catalog and saw there was a buy one, get one free offer on the Advance Techniques Daily Shine End Serum. Since I always had problems with my ends, I thought I’d give it a try. After using this product, I have four words for you: NO MORE DRY ENDS.

6. My great-grandmother started using Olay in her late 60’s and in her late 80’s, her skin was soft. In my first professional acting experience after college, I was sitting next to a woman in the dressing room that I thought was only a few years older than me. When I found out that she was TWICE my age, I asked her what her secret to youthful skin was and this is what she told me. Moisturize every single day. It doesn’t matter what product you use, but you have to do it every day. Remembering how smooth my great-grandmother’s skin felt, I went out that day and bought my first bottle of Olay and I haven’t stop using it since.

7. There is something about being on vacation that makes me want to choose unique skin care products. I think it has to do with the luxury bath products that you get in hotels and bed and breakfast establishments. While visiting Cape May, I stopped in the Good Scents store. If you want unique gifts (for yourself or others) then this is THE STORE to shop in. Luckily, if you can’t get to Exit O on the parkway, you can scoop up Archipelago Botanicals Morning Mint Body Wash on their online store.

8. Do you ever go shopping for one thing and then come home with another? That is so me. And sometimes I come home with both. This was one of those cases. I went for OPI nail color at Ulta and ended up coming home with Benefit Cosmetics bronzer in “Dallas“. It’s described as an outdoor glow for the indoor gal. It gives me a healthy look all year-long and, on those rare occasions that I actually get a tan, it really brings it alive.

9. For years and years and year, I had used L’oreal’s Voluminous Mascara. But then something changed in the formula and I was finding that by 5pm, I had two black raccoon eyes. So I went in search of a new mascara. It was about this time that Maybelline’s Volum’ Express Falsies mascara was getting a lot of press. Figuring why not give it a try, I did. I haven’t let any other mascara on my lashes since. Beautiful. Long. Thick.

10. I don’t know about you, but I’m always running a few minutes behind especially in the morning. I had always been annoyed with having to sharpen my eyeliner pencils, but it took getting a piece of the wooden pencil in my eye to be converted to the automatic twist up. Once I tried, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t always selected this style. Quick and easy to use, twist up pencils are the way to go. I got hooked on Clinique’s brand and although my personal favorite is grape, I also love roast coffee (a dark brown), shy brown (a light brown), slate (a gray), violet (a dark purple), true khaki (a green) and blue/grey (the name pretty much says it all).

Happy Moment of the Day: Recycling my Starbucks bag of coffee and getting a free tall coffee in return.

One Response to “Top 10 Beauty Products”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pin Me ~ Week Twelve ~ from my Product Shopping Board ~ How To Glow With The Best of Them | redcurlgurl - April 26, 2013

    […] The smell eventually fades (which is good because I wouldn’t want it to interfere with my LOVELY perfume). […]

Leave a Reply

