Can You Love More Than One Book At A Time

5 Jun

I love books. I don’t just love them. I ADORE THEM!

My mother has said on more than one occasion that I learned to read before I learned to walk. My early love of reading began with her “Dick and Jane” books.

     “See Dick Run.”

     “See Jane Run.”

And with those two sentences, my heart grew with wonder for words. The longing to be in other worlds and to ride magic carpets on fantastic adventures. It’s no doubt why I ended up with a career in the arts.

As my love affair with books grew, so did my bookshelves. I started out with a small two shelf number that I picked up at a garage sale for $5.00. A larger apartment meant I could add a massive one from IKEA with four shelves, that was taller than me and took up an entire wall. When I moved into a house, I got a second one to match.

Since that time, books can be found in any nook and cranny in my home. I’ve donated quite a few and leant even more to friends. But my book addiction continues to thrive.

It’s probably because I love to read so much that, at any given time, you can find me enjoying between 2-5 books. A friend of mine insists this is not the way to read as it delays getting to the end of any one book quickly. But the end isn’t always what I have my sights set on. I enjoy the ride.

Not to mention the fact that I enjoy reading different types of books at different times of the day.

For instance, I am NOT a morning person. Getting going after that alarm wakes me up is like running a marathon. I’m built for distance, not for speed. So while I’m still trying to adjust my eyes to the light of day, I need a simple tale. One that is easy-going and doesn’t require a lot of deep thought. One I’ll retain the plot after I’ve finished my morning coffee. So I’ve been reading “The Madman of Venice” by Sophie Masson. It has the added bonus of having slightly larger type which makes it nice for my eyes that are only half-open. 

My favorite way to spend lunch is with a good book in hand. So whether I’ve made my own and gone to a park or I’m sitting in Whole Foods enjoying a nice cup of soup or salad, chances are you’ll find me reading (or writing). But on reading days, I’ve been taking “The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas” by Gertrude Stein. I recently saw a magnificent exhibit called “The Steins Collect” at The Met. Actually, I visited it three times because it was THAT GOOD. My Sweetheart encouraged me to pick up the book and I’m so glad he did. It’s funny. It’s entertaining. And it ties in so well to the collection.

I hate feeling like my time is being wasted. And standing in line always gives me that feeling.  Carrying a book with me has solved that issue. Now when I find myself standing in line (as I was on Saturday to get into Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final), I whipped out a book and started reading. It was “Do Travel Writers Go to Hell? by Thomas Kohnstamm. It’s upbeat and adventurous without being too demanding on the attention span. I was able to put it back it my purse, get my ticket scanned, buy a pretzel, find my seat and easily pick up where I had left off in the story without having to go back and reread.

Which brings me to just-before-bed-time-reading. This is where I light a candle, maybe play some soft music and generally tune out the world. I save my favorite books for this reading time. A book I have been savoring for the last couple of months has been “Timeless” by Gail Carriger. It’s the final book in The Parasol Protectorate series. The final adventures of Alexia Tarabotti. Normally, I would be devouring her books. They are a magnificent example of brilliant writing with witty dialogue and characters you wish were alive rather than fictional. I don’t want the series to end. I only read a few pages every night. At this rate, it might be next June before I finish. But that’s ok. Because by February 2013, Ms. Carriger will have a new four book series out dubbed The Finishing School. The first book entitled “Etiquette & Espionage”.

So, in answer to my original question, yes I do believe you can love more than one book at a time. Loving multiple books is a bit like loving shoes. You can’t possibly have only one.

3 Responses to “Can You Love More Than One Book At A Time”

  1. TansyBradshaw July 10, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    I Love Gail’s books – they are what got me into steampunk!

    • redcurlgurl July 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      Isn’t she fabulous??!!! I could read her books over and over.

  2. Doc January 3, 2015 at 7:57 am #

    At last! Something clear I can unrndstaed. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

