1st Beach Day of the 2012 Season

22 Jun

I couldn’t resist doing this post. I had to bookmark the start of the 2012 beach season. Perhaps it will be one of those things I do every year.

In 2011, the first trip to the beach was June 18.   

In 2012, the first trip to the beach will be June 23.

I’d say we’re right on schedule. Wouldn’t you?

Last year I hadn’t found a new bathing suit. This year, I did. It’s a pretty navy suit that I got on Ruelala. One of the things I wanted to do this year was broaden my fashion horizons and wearing navy (instead of choosing another one in black) is one of those ways I’m growing my wardrobe in new ways.

I also picked up a gorgeous striped hat at TJMaxx on clearance for $10. It’s really wide and floppy and is going to look so vintage travel postcard chic.

And naturally I had to get a fun new beach bag (also from TJMaxx). It’s from the “Life Is Good” collection (how apropos is that)? It’s pink and will go with all my bathing suits (the new navy and the ye olde black suit that is going to make it another season). I should pay attention to who made it because it’s seen lots of sun and salt water and still looks amazing!

Naturally, I have a ton of beach reads including a new book I picked up today “Lunch in Paris. A Love Story with Recipes” by Elizabeth Bard. I read three chapters while having lunch at Barnes & Noble and the story is adorable and the recipes….WOW! Can’t wait to try them out (especially Moelleux au Chocolat “Kitu”) which the author says is the French version of Death by Chocolate.

So tomorrow is kicking off what I hope will be many, many weekends at the shore. And to quote myself…”Any day spent in sand, sun and water is the BEST DAY EVER!”

Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

