Pin Me ~ Week One

6 Jan

Well, for my first week of my Pin Me project ~ 52 weeks of actually doing something with my Pins ~ I selected a pin from my Perhaps I Might Read Board.

I had seen the promo video for Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway and thought it looked interesting.

My Sweetheart and I were out running errands one day and he agreed to buy me a book so I took him up on his offer and picked up Angelmaker.

I began reading it this week. I’m about three chapters in and I rather like it. Here’s the official description from the author’s website: Angelmaker

All Joe Spork wants to do is live quietly. He repairs clockwork and lives above his shop in a wet, unknown bit of London. The bills don’t always get paid and he’s single and in his mid thirties and he has no prospects of improving his lot, but at least he’s not trying to compete with the reputation of Mathew “Tommy Gun” Spork, his infamous criminal dad.

Edie Banister lives quietly and wishes she didn’t. She’s nearly ninety and remembers when she wasn’t. She used to be a spy, and now she’s… well… old. Worse yet, the things she fought to save don’t seem to exist anymore, and she’s beginning to wonder if they ever did.

When Joe repairs one particularly unusual clockwork mechanism, his quiet life is blown apart. Suddenly he’s getting visits from sinister cultists and even more sinister lawyers. One of his friends is murdered and it looks as if he may be in the frame. Oh, and in case that wasn’t enough, he seems to have switched on a 1950s doomsday machine – or is it something even more alarming? Edie’s story and Joe’s have collided. From here on in, nothing will be the same – Joe’s world is now full of mad monks, psychopaths, villainous potentates, scientific geniuses, giant submarines, determined and extremely dangerous receptionists, and threats to the future of conscious life in the universe – and if Joe’s going to fix it or even survive, he must show that he can be everything Mathew was, and much, much more.

Joe is a guy I would want to have a beer with ~ easy going, he’s got an ongoing battle with a neighbor’s mean cat and he can make non-working gadgets work.

Edie is a hoot! She’s tougher than she looks and so far she’s opened up a can of whoop ass on three guys that were going to take her out. I’m hoping we get to see a glimpse of her in her early spy days. And she has a great side kick in her dog, Bastion.

So it was fun to kick off my first week with a good book to read. I’ll keep you posted on how it’s going. In the meantime, I need to look for a Week Two Pin.

PS My Happy Thang for today: The NHL has ended their lockout. We’re going to have us a (half) hockey season. Whoo hoo! Let’s go Devils!

Leave a Reply

