Organized Cleaning ~ I Hope

16 Jan

So every year I have this sort of unwritten resolution that I will be organized. This usually involves making more lists (you know how I love to cross things off my to-do list) and sometimes folders, color coded pens and decorative boxes or straw baskets.

Then I push the papers, folders and boxes/baskets around and lose all the pens in my purses around late January and I’m back to square one.

Well, I have found all my pens, my folders are in a pile next to my baskets and I’m trying a new technique this year.

I recently read an article where the professional organizer said don’t try to tackle it all in one day. Not even an entire room.

What?!

Yes, that’s what she suggested. Give yourself 15 minutes and vow to clear only the desk in the office.

OK. I was listening.gloves

Then, if you have 15 more minutes, do another task. Otherwise, be satisfied with having a clear desk.

This made sense to me.

I started to read other women’s blogs where they talked about not cleaning their entire house in one day. At least half of them didn’t even clean on the weekend. No, my friend, weekends are for fun. They just simply split up the cleaning over the week. Hmmm….

So, I came across a really pretty printable Weekly Cleaning List from A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa’s blog.

I started on Monday. I’m three days for three days of keeping up with my small cleaning jobs. And, not feeling so overwhelmed, I’m adding in little bit of more organizing here and there.

In an effort to not have piles of Weekly Cleaning Lists all around, but wanting to keep a record of what I did, I’m gonna post it on my blog. Here’s this week’s tasks:

Monday: laundry, clean bathroom, dishes, wipe down kitchen countertops

Tuesday: dishes, laundry, wipe down kitchen countertops

Wednesday: dishes, wipe down kitchen counter tops & cabinets, throw out expired food from fridge, laundry, dust living room

Thursday: dust bedroom, dust family room, clear desk of paper, dishes, wipe down kitchen counter tops

Friday: dishes, wipe down kitchen counter tops

Saturday:  recycle magazines, shred papers, laundry, wipe down kitchen counter top, dust guest room

Sunday: water plants, wipe down kitchen counter tops, laundry, clean closet, bag up clothing donation, throw out old make-up

What do you do to keep organized? How do you break down your cleaning tasks?

Happy Thang for today: Going to see Bob Schneider in concert!

2 Responses to “Organized Cleaning ~ I Hope”

  1. Kari Schilling January 23, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    You should also check out the Fly Lady online. She is also good for breaking it into manageable pieces, putting out hot spots, and focusing on one area of the house per week.
    http://www.flylady.net/

    • redcurlgurl February 14, 2013 at 9:19 am #

      Thank you so much for telling me about the Fly Lady. Love her!

Leave a comment